torian Order of Nurses. Apr. 20, Lt.-Col. Andrew T. Thompson, K.C., Ottawa, Ont., former M.P. for Haldimand. May 4, Dr. A. W. Chisholm, Margaree Harbour, N.S., former M.P. for Inverness. May 8, E. F. Drake, Ottawa, Ont., former Director, Dominion Reclamation Service. June 1, Major-General A. C. Caldwell, Ottawa, Ont., former Master-General of the Ordnance. May 17, John Bruce Walker, Winnipeg, Man., Director of European Emigration. June 15, Eccles J. Gott, Amherstburg, Ont., former M.P. for Essex South. June 23, Brig.-Gen. Ernest A. Cruikshank, Ottawa, Ont., Chairman of the Historic Sites and Monuments Board. July 8, Col. George Snider, Hamilton, Ont., former Judge of the County Court of Wentworth. July 9, Dr. A. M. Young, Saskatoon, Sask., M.P. for Saskatoon. July 12, Hon. W. G. Ernst, Bridgewater, N.S., former Dominion Minister of Fisheries. Hon. Fernand Rinfret, Los Angeles, Cal., U.S.A., Secretary of State. July 13, Major-General D. W. B. Spry, O.B.E., V.D., Toronto, Ont., former District Officer Commanding M.D. No. 13.

Section 3.—Extracts from the Canada Gazette—Official Appointments, Commissions, etc.*

Privy Councillors, 1939.—Jan. 23, Norman Alexander McLarty, Esq., B.A., K.C., M.P., Windsor, Ont., James Angus MacKinnon, Esq., M.P., Edmonton Alta.: to be Members of the King's Privy Council for Canada.

Cabinet Ministers, 1939.—Jan. 23, Hon. Norman Alexander McLarty, P.C.: to be Postmaster General. Hon. James Angus MacKinnon, P.C.: to be a Member of the Administration and Minister without portfolio.

New Members of the House of Commons, 1938.—Nov. 8, Peter Bercovitch, elected for Cartier (Island of Montreal), Que. Nov. 14, Hon. R. J. Manion, elected for London, Ont.; Karl K. Homuth, elected for Waterloo South, Ont.; J. E. Matthews, elected for Brandon, Man.

Honorary Aides-de-Camp, 1938.—His Excellency the Governor General has been pleased to make the following appointments, viz.: Oct. 1, Commander H. E. Reid, Royal Canadian Navy, Commander-in-Charge, H.M.C. Dockyard, Halifax, N.S., vice Commander R. I. Agnew, O.B.E., Royal Canadian Navy. Oct. 14, Capt. V. G. Brodeur, Royal Canadian Navy, Captain-in-Charge, H.M.C. Naval Establishments, Esquimalt, and Commanding Officer, Coast of British Columbia, vice Commander C. T. Beard, Royal Canadian Navy.

Official Appointments, 1938.—June 2, Gustave Francq, Esq., Montreal, Que.: to be a Member of the Dominion Council of Health, from June 1, 1938, vice Patrick M. Draper, whose tenure of appointment has expired. Lt.-Col. James Learmonth Melville, M.C., E.D.: to be a member of the War Veterans' Allowance Board, with effect from June 2, 1938. June 30, Hon. Horace Harvey, Chief Justice of Alberta: to be Administrator of the Government of the Province of Alberta during the absence of the Lieutenant-Governor of the said Province, from July 3, 1938, to Aug. 8, 1938, both dates inclusive. Aug. 9, Hon. Thibaudeau Rinfret, Puisne Judge of the Supreme Court of Canada: to be Deputy Administrator of the Government of Canada. Aug. 31, Hon. T. A. Crerar, Minister of Mines and Resources: to be Acting Secretary of State during the absence of the Secretary of State. W. Charles Folliott, Esq.: to be a Member of the Canadian Wheat Board in the place and stead of Alexander M. Shaw, effective Sept. 1, 1938. Sept. 14, Hon. W. M. Martin, of the Saskatchewan Court of Appeal: to be Administrator of the Province of Saskatchewan during the absence of the Lieutenant-Governor, Sept. 17 to Oct. 8, inclusive. A. Cyril March, Esq., K.C., Prince Alberta, Sask., to be a Member of

^{*} This list is in continuance of that at pp. 1116-1120 of the 1938 Year Book,